• Choose a post by category or constellation

  • Learn the Night Sky

  • Search strategies

    Use the Search box below to find doubles by popular name, RA, or telescope size. For example, a search on "15h" will find all doubles we've reported on that have an RA of 15 hours. A search for "60mm" will find all doubles where we used that size telescope.

DSC-60: Epsilon Bootis – Izar, a pair of delicious fruits

This is a DSC-60 Project observation –  for project details go here.
Epsilon Bootis 14h 45m.0 +27° 04′ 2.5, 4.9 2.8″ 339°

Maybe it’s because it’s 4 am and I’m getting hungry, but all I could think of when I saw this solid split of Izar was an orange with a little blue grape beside it – beautiful.

And  here we go with color perception again. John, in his more detailed report (with charts ) on Izar here, says this about the colors:

. . . Haas describes the primary as amber-yellow and the secondary as deep blue.  She credits Smyth with “pale orange; sea green,” which pretty well describes the colors I see, although I lean more toward gold than green in the secondary – but I can clearly see the green tint most of the time.

Go figure! We have an “amber yellow” and two votes for “pale orange.” Not me. It was deep orange – like fresh-off-the-tree orange. In fact, more like the color of the orange that you see when you bite into it.  But that’s OK. With the secondary I’m with Haas with a definite blue. But Smyth has it “sea green?” OK, that’s close to blue – and John sees the green tint but leans more towards gold? I don’t question any of these observations, of course, but it just never fails to amaze me how the same two stars can result in such varied reports.

I was using a 2.5mm eyepieces on the 60/360 – 144X. This was March 2, 2011 and it was one of the best splits I can remember of this double, an old friend.

Leave a Reply

